Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Ceraulen's Blog - Express yourself in English!
Archives
Ceraulen's Blog - Express yourself in English!
17 août 2006

How to make a phone call to a company part 2

Great to come back after a short break and be with you again! Hope you enjoyed this period in spite of rain!

In accordance with our plan, we will continue studying a scheme from the commercial/business field.

Today, how to get in touch with a company based on two books:

-          Communiquer en anglais – Contacts par telephone, fax, mail, courrier – S. Murdoch-Stern – Ed. Nathan

-          L’anglais economique et commercial – 20 dossiers bilingues pour maitriser la langue des affaires – M. Marcheteau, JP. Berman & M. Savio – Langues pour tous – Ed. Presses Pocket

Please find below some sentences which can help you to :

è INTRODUCE YOURSELF 

This is Elody Nelson.                                        

Ici, Elody Nelson.

My name is Elody Nelson.                                               

Je m’appelle Elodie Nelson.

I am a buyer at Match Point Co.                    

Je suis acheteuse chez Match Point.

I am calling from Match Point Co.                

J’appelle de Match Point.

I am calling on behalf of Match Point Co.   

J’appelle pour la societe Match Point.

I am calling on behalf of Tom Smith.            

J’appelle de la part de Tom Smith.

è SAY WHAT YOU WANT 

Could I speak to Tom Smith please ?            

Puis-je parler a Tom Smith, SVP?

I would like to speak to Kate Zhou, please.

J’aimerais parler a Kate Zhou, SVP.

Can you put me through to extension 217?

Pourriez-vous me passer le poste 217? 

I would like to speak to someone in the accounts department please.

Je voudrais parler a une personne du service comptabilite, SVP.

Could I speak to someone who deals with…?

Puis-je parler a quelqu’un qui s’occupe de...?

I am calling about…                                        

J’appelle au sujet de…

I am enquiring about invoice N°                   

J’appelle au sujet de la facture N°

Hello ! Is that Ms Thompson ?                        

Bonjour, etes-vous Mme Thompson?

Is Pamela Grey there, please ?                       

Est-ce que Pamela Grey est la, SVP?

I received / got a message from Mr Hamilton.

J’ai reçu un message de M. Hamilton.

He asked me to call him back.                        

Il m’a demande de la rappeler.

I said I would call him back with the figures.

Je lui ai dit que je le rappelerai avec les chiffres.

We met at the trade fair in Guangzhou.         

Nous nous sommes rencontres au salon de Canton.

You asked me to call you back when I was back in Paris.

Vous m’avez demande de rappeler lorsque j’etais a Paris.

è ANSWER A PHONE CALL 

Speaking. C’est moi à l’appareil.

(How) can I help you?      

(Comment) Puis-je vous aider?

I beg your pardon, who do you want to speak?

Pardon, a qui voulez-vous parler?

Could I tell him who is calling?                     

Qui dois-je annoncer?

Who is speaking please?                                 

Qui est a l’appareil? 

Who is asking for him please?         

Qui est a l’appareil, SVP?

Who would you like to speak to ?                 

A qui souhaitez-vous parler? 

Could I tell him what is it about?                  

A quel sujet?

I will put you through to Mr Jones.                              

Je vous passe M. Jones. 

Certainly, hold on please.                                              

Certainement, un instant, SVP.

I will see if he is available.                              

Je vais voir s’il est disponible.

The line is ringing for you now.                     

Ca sonne.

Wait a minute, Sir. I will see if Mr Cruise can speak to you.

Attendez, je vais voir si M. Cruise peut vous parler.

I will just get him for you.                                 

Je vais le chercher.

Mark, it is for you.                                             

Mark, c’est pour toi.

Could you spell the name of the person you are asking for, please?

Pourriez-vous epeler le nom de la personne que vous demandez, SVP?

To spell names, the following code is commonly used : 

A for Andrew        J for Jack              S for Sugar

B for Boy               K for King            T for Tommy

C for Charlie       L for Lucy             U for Uncle

D for David          M for Mary           V for Victory

E for Edward       N for Nut               W for William

F for Freddie       O for Oliver          X for X-Rays

G for George        P for Peter            Y for Yellow

H for harry           Q for Queenie      Z for Zebra

I for Ink                 R for Robert

For example, to spell Mac Govern, you will say:

M for Mary, A for Andrew, C for Charlie, G for George, O for Oliver, V for Victory, E for Edward, R for Robert, N for Nut.

I hand you over M. Dupont. He will know the answers.

Je vous passe M. Dupont. Il saura repondre a vos questions.

The line is so bad I can hardly hear you.      

La ligne est si mauvaise que je peux a peine vous entendre.

è ANSWER IF YOU CANNOT GET THE RIGHT PERSON 

I am sorry, the line is engaged / busy.          

Je suis desole(e), la ligne est occupee.

I am sorry, he is on another line.                   

Je suis navre(e), il est deja en ligne.

Would you like to ring back ?                        

Pourriez-vous rappeler?

Would you like to hold / hang on?                

Voulez-vous patienter?

I am sorry to keep you waiting.                     

Je suis desole(e) de vous faire attendre.

I am afraid, there is no answer.                      

Je suis desole(e), il n’y a pas de reponse.

Never mind.                                                         

Ce n’est pas grave.

I will ring / call back later.                             

Je rappelerai tout a l’heure.

Who should I ask for ?                                     

Qui dois-je demander?

What is his direct line please?                        

Quelle est sa ligne directe, SVP?

Can you get the number 503 708 90 ?         

Pouvez-vous demander le numero 503 708 90?

For phone numbers, we always quote the figures separately : five-zero-three-seven-zero-eight-nine-zero.

I am calling from France, so please get back to me quickly.

J’appelle de France, veuillez me reprendre vite.

If he cannot do that, he will call you back tonight at your home.

Si ca n’est pas possible, il vous rappelera ce soir chez vous.

Remember that local time here is three hours ahead of French time.

Souvenez-vous que l’heure locale est ici en avance de 3 heures sur l’heure française.

è SAY GOODBYE

Anyway….Bien…

I look forward to seeing you later / soon.    

Au plaisir de vous voir tout a l’heure/bientot.

I look forward to meeting / hearing / speaking to you again next week.

Au plaisir de vous rencontrer / d’avoir de vos nouvelles / parler avec vous la semaine prochaine.

I will speak to you next week about…

Je vous appelle la semaine prochaine au sujet de...

It was nice talking to you. Goodbye!

Ce fut un plaisir de parler avec vous. Au revoir.

Thank you for calling.

Merci de votre appel.

Not at all. You are welcome.

De rien. Ce fut un plaisir.

Thank you for your help.

Merci de votre aide.

Well, that is it for today. Hope these sentences will be helpful for you. Comments are welcome. Cheers!

Ceraulen

Publicité
Commentaires
Ceraulen's Blog - Express yourself in English!
  • You do not have the opportunity to practise your English? You want to share your opinion on different topics? This blog is done for you. Regular schemes, grammar revision, tips for interviews, other activities...
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
Derniers commentaires
Publicité